Home Sports All-District Gridiron Selections for District 11-2A DII

All-District Gridiron Selections for District 11-2A DII

Rick Frauenberger

By Will Johnson
Messenger Reporter

EAST TEXAS – With the loss of the Tenaha Tigers to the Muenster Hornets in the State Finals on Dec. 21, the postseason All-District honors from District 11-2A were announced.

The district is comprised of: Grapeland; Mount Enterprise; Overton; Tenaha; Timpson; and Wortham. The top four teams – 1) Tenaha, 2) Timpson, 3) Grapeland and 4) Mt. Enterprise – qualified for the playoffs.

Mt. Enterprise fell in the Bi-District round. Grapeland defeated Evadale and Cumby before the Timpson Bears knocked the Sandies out of the playoffs. The Bears were booted from the postseason by the Tenaha Tigers in the Regional semifinals while Tenaha fell eight points shy of a state championship, 27-20, when they lost to Muenster.

The 2017 superlative award winners for District 11-2A DII are:


  • Tri-MVP: Trai Gardner, J. Horn, and Onterio Thompson all from Tenaha.
  • Offensive MVP: Jordan Osby – Timpson
  • Offensive Newcomer of the Year: Jaylon Shelton – Overton
  • Offensive Lineman of the Year: Matthew Flournoy – Tenaha
  • Defensive MVP: Tavoris Giles – Tenaha
  • Defensive Newcomer of the Year: JT Calloway – Tenaha
  • Defensive Lineman of the Year: Juarmez Brock – Tenaha

The First Team Offensive selections were:

Guards: Aaron Davis – Grapeland and Nictaeo Scourton – Timpson

Offensive Tackles: Juarmez Brock – Tenaha and Tycorreus Villigas – Tenaha.

Center: Jarrett Paige – Timpson

Quarterback: Rick Frauenberger – Grapeland and John Grogan – Timpson

Running Back: Brannon Bedre – Grapeland

Full Back: Hudson Rogers – Overton

Wide Receivers: Tyrin Wiley – Grapeland; Jay Lloyd – Tenaha; Kaeson Gentry – Timpson; Cody Foshee – Tenaha; and Luke Osburn – Overton

Tight Ends: Tavoris Giles – Tenaha

Kicker: Christian Castillo – Tenaha

The Second Team Offensive selections are:

Running Back: Stephon Ester – Wortham

Wide Receivers: Josh Ackley – Grapeland and Braxton Whaley – Wortham

Tight Ends: Shawn Sartors – Overton

Offensive Linemen: Cerdarian Davis – Grapeland; Brandon Allison – Overton; Ashton King – Overton; Garrett Worley – Overton; and Dylan Martin – Wortham.

The First Team Defensive selections are:

Cornerbacks: Joe Clark – Overton; Cody Foshee – Tenaha; Ja’Qualin Franks – Tenaha; and Jordan Osby – Timpson.  

Defensive Line: Shane Peveto – Timpson; Devon LeBlanc – Timpson; NIctavian Calloway – Tenaha; Ashton King – Overton.

Inside Linebackers: James Coleman Grapeland; Luke Osburn – Overton; Jarrett Page – Timpson; and Christian Ashton – Tenaha.

Outside Linebackers: Brayden Cheatham – Grapeland; Jase Jones – Mount Enterprise; and Jordan Thompson.  

Cornerbacks: Tyrin Wiley Grapeland; Jonathan Wright – Mt. Enterprise; Cody Foshee – Tenaha

Safety: Jordan Osby – Timpson and Jay Lloyd – Tenaha

Punters: Rick Frauenberger – Grapeland

The Second Team Defensive selections are:

Defensive Line: Jesse West- Grapeland; Darius Herndon – Overton; and Dylan Martin – Wortham.

Inside Linebackers: Josh Ackley – Grapeland and Hudson Rodgers – Overton.

Outside Linebacker: Braxton Whaley – Overton

Safeties: Cole Marshall – Overton and Stephon Ester – Wortham.

The Honorable Mention Selections are:

Wortham: Logan Salisbury – Defensive Line; Hunter Turner – Offensive Line; Ethan Perez – Defensive Line; E.J. Salazar – Offensive Line; Brandon Coker – Fullback; Breven Tobola – Quarterback.

Overton: Kadin Dike – Tight End and Peyton Roberts – Offensive Line.

Will Johnson may be reached via e-mail at wjohnson@messenger-news.com.